Ms Peta Jamieson (Chair)

Ms Peta Jamieson (Chair)

OAM, BA (Honours), GradCertBusAdmin, MEnvMgmt, GAICD

Appointed Chair: 15 December 2016
First appointment: 26 June 2015
Current term: 01 April 2024 - 31 March 2026

Peta has over 20 years experience in the private and public sector in executive leadership and operational roles. She's worked for the Queensland Government, Brisbane City Council and the Local Government Association of Queensland (LGAQ) and has extensive knowledge in government policy.

In previous roles, Peta helped lead economic change across local government to improve financial sustainability and service delivery. She represented local councils during the development of the Environmental Protection Act. Peta also helped establish the Chief Executive Officers’ Forum with the Council of Mayors of South East Queensland.

Peta is a Director for the Gladstone Ports Corporation Board and is a member of the risk and compliance and people and performance committees.  She's also the director of her own consultancy company, Luminous Project Services, where she provides leadership and advocacy services.

Since her appointment, Peta has promoted the interests of patients in the Bundaberg and Wide Bay regions. She's also Chair of our executive committee and a member of the audit and risk, safety and quality, and finance committees.

Ms Karen Prentis (Deputy Chair)

Ms Karen Prentis (Deputy Chair)

BEc, MAdmin, GAICD

Appointed Deputy Chair: 22 October 2021
First appointment: 18 May 2017
Current term: 01 April 2024 - 31 March 2028

Karen is an experienced non-executive director and has extensive knowledge of corporate governance, risk management and strategy. She  has significant financial expertise, with over 30 years in financial services and funds management. Karen has specialised skills with managing complex issues and diverse stakeholder and negotiation management across the public and private sectors.

Karen is the Chairperson for the Children’s Hospital Foundation and Chair of Queensland Treasury’s audit and risk management committee. She's also Pro Chancellor at Griffith University.

As Deputy Chair, Karen is focused on innovative strategy development and strategic leadership for our hospitals and health services. She's also a member of our audit and risk and finance committees.

Professor Helen Huntly

Emeritus Professor Helen Huntly

EdD, MEdStd, BEd, DipTeach, GAICD

First appointment: 01 April 2024
Current term: 01 April 2024 - 31 March 2028

Emeritus Professor Helen Huntly OAM served in various university executive roles throughout her career in Tertiary Education, including Vice President (Academic), Deputy Vice Chancellor (VET) and Dean of the School of Education & the Arts at CQUniversity.

In 2022, Helen was appointed a Principal Fellow of internationally recognised Advance HE, after which she was invited as a member of the organisation’s Australasian Strategic Advisory Board.

Helen has undertaken leadership roles such as the Chair of the Queensland Deans of Education Forum and Deputy President of the Australian Council of Deans of Education (ACDE).

As well as a life (and founding) member of the Bundaberg YMCA, Helen was a long-term Board Director for IMPACT: Community Services, and now serves on the Management Committee of Phoenix House Association Inc. These roles have consolidated her skills in areas such as corporate governance, strategy and planning, and risk management.

Stevan Ober

Stevan Ober

Dip Health Sci, DipBus, Dip Ldrship & Mgt, National Medal for Service (NM)

First appointment: 01 April 2024
Current term: 01 April 2024 - 31 March 2028

Stevan is the Chief Executive Officer of Galangoor Duwalami Primary Health Care Service in Fraser Coast. He has over 25 years’ experience in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health in both the Queensland Government, and in the community control sector.

Stevan is a Board Director of the Queensland Aboriginal Islander Health Council, a member of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Advisory Council (Wide Bay Hospital Health Service), a former member of the St Stephen’s Private Hospital Advisory Committee and a former member of the Statewide Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Alcohol and Drug Committee.

He is also a current serving member of Marine Rescue Queensland (Hervey Bay) and has been awarded the National Medal for Service (NM) from the Governor-General of Australia for over 15 years of continuous service.

Mrs Karla Steen

Mrs Karla Steen

First appointment: 18 May 2021
Current term: 01 April 2024 - 31 March 2026

Karla has extensive experience in media, communications and marketing in the public and private sectors. She was previously a journalist and worked with ABC radio and Channel 10 before joining the Queensland Government as a ministerial media advisor. As a media advisor, Karla worked across the emergency services, child safety and community services portfolios.

Karla works with the Hervey Bay Neighbourhood Centre to improve community mental health. She has also developed regional community programs that support women in the STEM, small business, mining and sport industries.

Karla received the Start Playing, Stay Playing Excellence Award in 2018 for her work on the Inspiring an Active Mackay program.

Karla has completed research into regional government board participation and is a member of our audit and risk, and safety and quality committees. As a cancer survivor, she's passionate about improving our regional and rural health services.

Leanne Rudd

Leanne Rudd

BBus, FCPA, DipFinPlan GAICD  JP

First appointment: 01 April 2024
Current term: 01 April 2024 - 31 March 2028

Leanne is a Non-Executive Director and financial professional with over twenty years of extensive experience at board level, spanning both the private and not-for-profit sectors. Her expertise encompasses taxation, business advisory, wealth and financial management, leadership, governance, and management consulting.

Founder of The Money Edge, a reputable agribusiness, accounting, and financial advisory business based in Bundaberg, Leanne has dedicated three decades to public practice.

Leanne’s passion for community development and healthcare improvement in regional, rural, and remote areas stems from her upbringing in the region.  Leanne is also Chair of Impact Community Services.

Driven by a desire to effect positive change, her extensive experience underscores her ability to facilitate the growth and sustainability of businesses across various sectors.

Dr Chris Woollard

Dr Chris Woollard


First appointment: 1 April 2022
Current term: 01 April 2022 – 31 March 2026

Chris is an experienced medical professional and educator. He has extensive experience in medical, academic, training and military roles and is a practising GP in Hervey Bay. He is the former GP Liaison Officer for the Central Queensland, Wide Bay, Sunshine Coast Primary Health Network and Chair of Wide Bay Clinical Council. Chris is also the GP representative for the Fraser Coast Local Medical Association.

Chris was previously an army medical officer in the Australian Defence Force with experience in severe trauma management, aviation and underwater medicine and occupational health.

Chris received the Australian Service Medal and Level Three Group Commendation for his work in medical training. He remains an active reservist in the ADF. Chris was also a tutor at the University of Queensland’s rural clinical school and a registrar supervisor for GPs at James Cook University.

Chris is a member of our safety and quality and board executive committees. Having grown up in rural areas, he's passionate about improving health care in remote and rural areas.

Last updated: May 2024